New England Patriots

Former player Ty Law of the New England Patriots is recognized in a halftime ceremony at Gillette Stadium on Oct. 16, 2014. (Photo by Jim Rogash/Getty Images)

Former Patriots cornerback Ty Law and receiver Randy Moss are among the finalists for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s 2018 class.

Law won three Super Bowl championships with the Patriots in 2001, 2003, and 2004. Most notably, he ran back a Kurt Warner interception for a touchdown to spur the Pats’ win in Super Bowl XXXVI. He also famously picked off Peyton Manning three times in the 2003 AFC Championship Game.

Moss, meanwhile, played three markedly productive years for the Patriots before being traded early in the 2010 season. Easily his best season came in 2007, in which he broke the NFL’s single-season record for touchdowns with 23. In total, he scored 50 touchdowns in 52 games in New England.

It’s unclear whether Moss will ever be inducted into the Patriots Hall of Fame. But Law already received that honor in 2014.

Ty Law is among the 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. (Photo by Maddie Meyer/Getty Images)

New England Patriots owner Robert Kraft holds the Vince Lombardi Trophy with past Patriots Ty Law and Troy Brown to celebrate before the game at Gillette Stadium on Sept. 10, 2015. (Photo by Maddie Meyer/Getty Images)

Ty Law: Decorated Corner

Law missed more than half of the 2004 season due to injury, including the playoffs. But in any event, Law perennially played at a championship level – mostly for the Patriots. He earned two First Team All-Pro nods (1998, 2003) and five Pro Bowl selections (1998, 2001-03, 2005) as a result of his performance.

The corner’s final Pro Bowl nod came in 2005, when he played for the New York Jets. He led the NFL with a career-best 10 interceptions, which he returned for a total of 195 yards.

Moss appears on the Hall of Fame ballot for the first time this year. Other notable first-timers include linebackers Ray Lewis and Brian Urlacher, and guard Steve Hutchinson. Law makes his first appearance as a finalist.

2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame Finalists

T Tony Boselli (Jaguars)

WR Isaac Bruce (Rams, 49ers)

S Brian Dawkins (Eagles, Broncos)

G Alan Faneca (Steelers Jets Cardinals)

G Steve Hutchinson (Seahawks, Vikings, Titans)

T Joe Jacoby (Redskins)

RB Edgerrin James (Colts, Cardinals, Seahawks)

CB Ty Law (Patriots, Jets, Chiefs, Broncos)

LB Ray Lewis (Ravens)

S John Lynch (Buccaneers, Broncos)

C Kevin Mawae (Seahawks, Jets, Titans)

WR Randy Moss (Vikings, Raiders, Patriots, Titans, 49ers)

WR Terrell Owens (49ers, Eagles, Cowboys, Bills, Bengals)

LB Brian Urlacher (Bears)

CB Everson Walls (Cowboys, Giants, Browns)

Law still has plenty of time to make it into Canton, even though he’s had to wait. But in light of breaking through to the finalists in a year with sure-fire first-ballot players like Lewis (and possibly Urlacher?), Law has a good chance of eventually getting in. Just about any Patriots fan would agree that he deserves a bust.

Moss is certainly a first-ballot Hall of Famer on paper. But unfortunately for him, he could possibly get the “Terrell Owens treatment” and have to wait in order to get in. That’s mainly due to the fact that he earned a reputation as a mercurial, high-maintenance player who wore out his welcome everywhere he played. Furthermore, he also never actually won a Super Bowl (even though he came damn close to a winning touchdown). But there’s no denying that Moss possessed Hall of Fame talent.

The Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee will make their final picks for induction on the Saturday before Super Bowl LII.

— By Matt Dolloff,

Matt Dolloff is a digital producer for Any opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect those of 98.5 The Sports Hub, Beasley Media Group, or any subsidiaries. Have a news tip, question, or comment for Matt? Follow him on Twitter @mattdolloff.