New England Patriots

By Matt McCarthy,

The wait is over for Ty Law.

After three years of being a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame but failing to gain election, Law was voted into Canton by the selection committee on Saturday.

Law joins John Hannah, Mike Haynes, Andre Tippett, and Nick Buoniconti on the list of players to enter the Hall of Fame as Patriots. Randy Moss, Curtis Martin, Junior Seau, and Bill Parcells are also in Canton.

Law now becomes the first Patriots player from the early years of the Belichick-Brady dynasty to earn a bust in Canton. Richard Seymour was also a finalist for the 2019 class, but was not elected.

“Ty Law was one of the premier cornerbacks in the NFL during his 15-year career and remains one of the greatest players in our franchise’s storied history,” said Patriots owner Robert Kraft. “The committee has validated that by selecting Ty to join this year’s class in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. We have had an incredible run of success and the building blocks started with players like Ty. He was an integral part of three Super Bowl championship teams and we are honored to have another Patriot take his rightful place in Canton.”

Law played 10 of his 15 years in the NFL in New England and is tied with Raymond Clayborn for the franchise record in interceptions with 36.

Ed Reed, Kevin Mawae, Tony Gonzalez, and Champ Bailey were also voted in as part of this year’s eight-person class. Reed, Gonzalez, and Bailey were all elected in their first year of eligibility.

You can hear Matt McCarthy on various 98.5 The Sports Hub programs. Follow him on Twitter @MattMcCarthy985.