New England Revolution

Mar 7, 2020; Foxborough, Massachusetts, USA; New England Revolution coach Bruce Arena during the first half against the Chicago Fire at Gillette Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

New England Revolution Sporting Director and Head Coach Bruce Arena has been voted the 2021 Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year. Arena earns his fourth MLS Coach of the Year honor, the most in league history, after guiding New England to its first Supporters’ Shield title and an MLS-record 73 points in the regular season.

Arena, a five-time MLS Cup champion and the winningest head coach in MLS postseason history, will lead the Revolution into the Audi 2021 MLS Cup Playoffs with an Eastern Conference Semifinal tilt against New York City FC on Tuesday, Nov. 30 at 7:30 p.m. ET at Gillette Stadium, which can be heard on WBOS 92.9 FM.

Arena won his record fourth Supporters’ Shield title this season with his third 20-win season in MLS, earning homefield advantage throughout the playoffs and a Round One bye. The Revolution’s 22 wins this season, which tied the most non-shootout victories in a season, saw Arena move into a tie with the late Sigi Schmid for the most regular season wins in league history with 240. Under Arena’s guidance, the Revolution set a new league record with 2.15 points per game while matching the highest winning percentage in MLS history at .750.

Arena joins Bob Bradley as the second individual to win the MLS Coach of the Year award with three different clubs, having previously won the honor with D.C. United in 1997 and twice with the Los Angeles Galaxy in 2009 and 2011. Arena is the second Revolution coach to be named Coach of the Year after Steve Nicol in 2002. Seeking his sixth MLS Cup victory, Arena is three wins away from becoming the first MLS coach – and the second coach across the five major North American men’s professional leagues – to win a championship with three different teams (Scotty Bowman – NHL).

Arena becomes the third member of the Revolution to collect 2021 MLS year-end honors for his individual achievements. On Nov. 22, Matt Turner was announced as the 2021 Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year, while Carles Gil was recognized as the 2021 MLS Comeback Player of the Year on Nov. 24. Gil remains a finalist for the Landon Donovan MLS MVP Award, due to be announced in early December.