New England Patriots

FOXBORO, MA - DECEMBER 24: A New England Patriots helmet during the first half of the game between the New England Patriots and the Buffalo Bills at Gillette Stadium on December 24, 2017 in Foxboro, Massachusetts. (Photo by Maddie Meyer/Getty Images)

Ahead of their season opener against Miami on Sunday, the Patriots released their five captains for the 2021 season. David Andrews, Dont’a Hightower, Devin McCourty, Matthew Slater, and James White will lead the team in 2021.

All five players have been captains before. McCourty and Slater were each named for the 11th time. It’s the fifth time Andrews has been elected, and fourth for both White and Hightower.

The Patriots select their captains each year through a player vote. Bill Belichick said Wednesday morning the team has a history of selecting “good leaders” for the role.

Five captains is the fewest the Patriots have had since 2016, when they started the season with four. Tom Brady was suspended to start that season, but reinstated as a captain once he returned.

MORE: Patriots 2021 rookie expectations

Alex Barth is a writer and digital producer for Any opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect those of 98.5 The Sports Hub, Beasley Media Group, or any subsidiaries. Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Looking for a podcast guest? Let him know on Twitter @RealAlexBarth or via email at