New England Patriots

PITTSBURGH - SEPTEMBER 25: Richard Seymour #93 of the New England Patriots celebrates a play against the Pittsburgh Steelers at Heinz Field on September 25, 2005 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The Pats defeated the Steelers 23-20. (Photo by Harry How/Getty Images)

98.5 The Sports Hub staff report

The New England Patriots announced on Monday that former defensive end Richard Seymour has been named the 30th member of the Patriots Hall of Fame. Seymour finally gets the fan-voted honor in his fifth year as a finalist.

Seymour becomes the seventh three-time Super Bowl champion to represent the Patriots in the team hall of fame after Troy Brown (2012), Tedy Bruschi (2013), Ty Law (2014), Willie McGinest (2015), Kevin Faulk (2016), and Matt Light (2018). Fellow finalist Mike Vrabel could finally be next in line for induction after coming up short again in his fifth year as a finalist.

A former three-time first team All-Pro and seven-time Pro Bowler in addition to three-time champion, Seymour is also a candidate to make the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton. He’s been a finalist for induction for the past two years. Law became the first Patriot from the Bill Belichick era to get a bust at the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2019.

Peyton Manning and Charles Woodson are among the slam dunks for enshrinement in Canton in 2021, so Seymour’s voters will have to compete for limited space on the ballot. But the former Patriots great is getting his due in Foxboro.

Follow the New England Patriots on