Bruins announce 2019-20 schedule; regular season starts Oct. 3 in Dallas

Elsa/Getty Images

By Matt Dolloff, 985TheSportsHub.com

The Boston Bruins announced their 2019-20 regular season schedule on Tuesday. Boston's quest to return to the Stanley Cup Final begins Thursday, Oct. 3 in Dallas, when they will face Tyler Seguin and the Dallas Stars.

That will be just the first of a four-stop western road trip to kick off the 2019-20 season for the Bruins, who will also travel to Arizona, Vegas, and Colorado in the first eight days. Then they will return to Boston for their home opener against the New Jersey Devils and No. 1 overall pick Jack Hughes.

With the addition of both Hughes and Norris Trophy-winning defenseman P.K. Subban, the Devils figure to be a much tougher opponent than last season when they went 31-41-10 and 1-2 against the Bruins.

Boston also spends the first month of the 2019-20 season facing Tampa Bay on the 17th, a home-and-home with the Maple Leafs on the 19th and 22nd, and a Stanley Cup rematch with the Blues on the 26th at TD Garden.

Here's the full schedule, via the Bruins' official website at NHL.com:

OCTOBER

Thursday, October 3 @ Dallas, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, October 5 @ Arizona, 6 p.m.
Tuesday, October 8 @ Vegas, 7 p.m.
Thursday, October 10 @ Colorado, 7 p.m.
Saturday, October 12 vs. New Jersey, 7 p.m.
Monday, October 14 vs. Anaheim, 1 p.m.
Thursday, October 17 vs. Tampa Bay, 7 p.m.
Saturday, October 19 @ Toronto, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, October 22 vs. Toronto, 7 p.m.
Saturday, October 26 vs. St. Louis, 7 p.m.
Sunday, October 27 @ N.Y. Rangers, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, October 29 vs. San Jose, 7 p.m.

NOVEMBER

Saturday, November 2 vs. Ottawa, 7 p.m.
Monday, November 4 vs. Pittsburgh, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, November 5 @ Montreal, 7 p.m.
Friday, November 8 @ Detroit, 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, November 10 vs. Philadelphia, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, November 12 vs. Florida, 7 p.m.
Friday, November 15 @ Toronto, 7 p.m.
Saturday, November 16 vs. Washington, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, November 19 @ New Jersey, 7 p.m.
Thursday, November 21 vs. Buffalo, 7 p.m.
Saturday, November 23 vs. Minnesota, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, November 26 @ Montreal, 7 p.m.
Wednesday, November 27 @ Ottawa, 7 p.m.
Friday, November 29 vs. N.Y. Rangers 1 p.m.

DECEMBER

Sunday, December 1 vs. Montreal, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, December 3 vs. Carolina, 7 p.m.
Thursday, December 5 vs. Chicago, 7 p.m.
Saturday, December 7 vs. Colorado, 7 p.m.
Monday, December 9 @ Ottawa, 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, December 11 @ Washington, 7 p.m.
Thursday, December 12 @ Tampa Bay, 7 p.m.
Saturday, December 14 @ Florida, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, December 17 vs. Los Angeles, 7 p.m.
Thursday, December 19 vs. N.Y. Islanders, 7 p.m.
Saturday, December 21 vs. Nashville, 7 p.m.
Monday, December 23 vs. Washington, 7 p.m.
Friday, December 27 @ Buffalo, 7 p.m.
Sunday, December 29 vs. Buffalo, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, December 31 @ New Jersey, 1 p.m.

JANUARY

Thursday, January 2 vs. Columbus, 7 p.m.
Saturday, January 4 vs. Edmonton, 1 p.m.
Tuesday, January 7 @ Nashville, 7 p.m.
Thursday, January 9 vs. Winnipeg, 7 p.m.
Saturday, January 11 @ N.Y. Islanders, 7 p.m.
Monday, January 13 @ Philadelphia, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, January 14 @ Columbus, 7 p.m.
Thursday, January 16 vs. Pittsburgh, 7 p.m.
Sunday, January 19 @ Pittsburgh, 12:30 p.m.
Tuesday, January 21 vs. Vegas, 7 p.m.
Friday, January 31 @ Winnipeg, 7 p.m.

FEBRUARY

Saturday, February 1 @ Minnesota, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, February 4 vs. Vancouver, 7 p.m.
Wednesday, February 5 @ Chicago, 7 p.m.
Saturday, February 8 vs. Arizona, 3 p.m.
Sunday, February 9 @ Detroit, 12:30 p.m.
Wednesday, February 12 vs. Montreal, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, February 15 vs. Detroit, 1 p.m.
Sunday, February 16 @ N.Y. Rangers, 3:30 p.m.
Wednesday, February 19 @ Edmonton, 6:30 p.m.
Friday, February 21 @ Calgary, 7 p.m.
Saturday, February 22 @ Vancouver, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, February 25 vs. Calgary, 7 p.m.
Thursday, February 27 vs. Dallas, 7 p.m.
Saturday, February 29 @ N.Y. Islanders, 1 p.m.

MARCH

Tuesday, March 3 @ Tampa Bay, 7 p.m.
Thursday, March 5 @ Florida, 7 p.m.
Saturday, March 7 vs. Tampa Bay, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, March 10 @ Philadelphia, 7 p.m.
Friday, March 13 @ Buffalo, 7 p.m.
Saturday, March 14 vs. Toronto, 7 p.m.
Monday, March 16 vs. Columbus, 7 p.m.
Wednesday, March 18 @ Anaheim, 7 p.m.
Thursday, March 19 @ Los Angeles, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 21 @ San Jose, 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 24 vs. Detroit, 7 p.m.
Thursday, March 26 vs. Ottawa, 7 p.m.
Saturday, March 28 vs. Florida, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, March 31 @ Carolina, 7 p.m.

APRIL

Thursday, April 2 @ St. Louis, 7 p.m.
Saturday, April 4 vs. Carolina, 7 p.m.

Wouldn't it make you queasy if the Bruins happened to be fighting for the division (or even a playoff spot) having to go to St. Louis and beat the big, bad Blues in the second-to-last game of the regular season? That could be the spot the Bruins put themselves in if they don't surge in January and February like they have the past two years. An interesting schedule setup, to say the least.

Matt Dolloff is a digital producer for 985TheSportsHub.com. Any opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect those of 98.5 The Sports Hub, Beasley Media Group, or any subsidiaries. Have a news tip, question, or comment for Matt? Follow him on Twitter @mattdolloff or email him at [email protected].